Post Race (Walt Disney World Marathon)

That. Was. AWESOME.

We went slow. We took our time. We rode a roller coaster. We stopped for a couple of character pictures. Lauren kept us paced wonderfully and I finished feeling strong and was able to enjoy the rest of the my vacation at Disney World.

It’s worth noting that my journey to the start line wasn’t perfect. I ran the 5k on Thursday (it was a blast!) and on Friday I volunteered for the 10k. My official volunteer title was “screaming fan.” So I stood outside and cheered for everyone. It was cold, I got there at 3:30 and by the time I got home I was so tired the room was spinning. My throat was incredibly sore and I was a mess. We went to Epcot Friday and that may not have been the best idea.

I slept until about noon on Saturday and for the first time ever, spent a day at Disney World without any park time. It was weird. But, just what I needed.

I woke up Sunday feeling great. And that continued all day! Nothing hurt during the race (beyond the normal aches that come with running a marathon). It was awesome.

I’ve never finished a marathon feeling strong. My first marathon started with a 5k PR (not good) and ended with me walking most of the final 8 or so miles. My second marathon (which I was horribly under trained for) resulted in a DNF. And my makeup was painfully slow and again, ended with me walking most of the last 6 or so miles.

This marathon was so different. I felt strong. I felt able. We were singing at mile 23. No joke. I was that asshole singing “Do you wanna run a 5k?!” after we passed the mile 23 marker. I had a blast and felt awesome.

I’m excited to see what happens in Cleveland this May.
It’ll be totally different. I’ll be by myself. I won’t have a roller coaster to ride at the halfway point. Meeko and Belle will not be present for pictures. It will also likely be hot. Though, it’s Cleveland and last year it snowed so… I’m really not thinking about the weather.

But! I am thinking goals and plans for this year. Which is really tough because I’ll finish school in May and then I have no idea what will happen. I don’t even know where we’ll live. I feel stuck. But, I’m excited for the spring.

I’m hoping to run Cleveland as close to 5 hours as possible. Though I’m not sure quite yet what I can really do in the next 18 weeks. ::shrug::
Disney training averaged 2 runs/15 miles a week.
I’m hoping to average 3 runs/22 miles a week for Cleveland.
That means I’d like to get about 400 miles in before I cross the start line in Cleveland.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

